Voting is taking place for three seats in the Lok Sabha and 29 constituencies spread across 13 states, Dadra Union Territory and Nagar Haveli.

In the majority of seats, the main battle will be between BJP and Congress candidates.

The seats in which the Lok Sabha by-elections are held are Dadra, Nagar Haveli and Mandi in Himachal Pradesh and Khandwa in Madhya Pradesh. Of the 29 caucus constituencies where voting is taking place, five are in Assam, four are in West Bengal, three each are in Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Meghalaya, two each are in Bihar, Karnataka and Rajasthan, and one seat each is in Andhra Pradesh, Haryana. , Maharashtra, Mizoram and Telangana.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli

Voting in the by-election for Dadra and Nagar Haveli Lok Sabha seats began on Saturday morning and people queued outside polling stations to cast their ballots. The by-election was necessary after the death of Mohan Dilkar, an independent MP for the constituency, in February of this year.


Voting also began for by-elections in three constituencies in Meghalaya amid tight security. Chief Election Officer FR Kharkongor said polling began at 7 am at all polling stations in Mauringkning, Mauvlang and Rajapala districts. He added that the first hour saw a quick poll.

Himachal Pradesh

Officials said the voting for Parliament seats for Mandi Lok Sabha, Arki, Fathpur and Gopal Kotkhai in Himachal Pradesh started at 8 am on Saturday.

A total of 1299,756 voters for Mandi Lok Sabha, 87,222 voters for Fatehpur, 92,609 voters for Solan and 70,965 voters for Gopal Kotkhai Vidan Sabha seats may exercise their franchise right until 6 pm. According to officials, 2,484 polling stations and 312 secondary polling stations for branch offices have been established.


Election officials said on Saturday that voting is underway in the constituencies of the Sindji and Hangal assembly constituencies in Karnataka state. Polling began at 7 am and will continue until 7 pm. Nineteen candidates compete in the two constituencies, including six from Sindgi and 13 from Hangal. Two Sindgi candidates are women.


Voting has commenced for House of Representatives seats in Vallabnagar and Dariwad in Rajasthan.

West Bengal

Polling is taking place in four constituencies in West Bengal with all eyes on Dinhatta as TMC heavyweight Adyan Guha looks to reclaim the seat, from which the BJP snatched a slogan in the April elections. It was necessary to move to Dinhata after the resignation of Nisith Pramanik, now Federal Minister of State for Home Affairs, as he chose to retain membership of the Lok Sabha. The other three seats in which the polling will take place are Santipur in Nadia district, Kharda in the north of 24 Barganas and Gusaba in the south of 24 Barganas. And in Santipur, too, BJP MP Jagannath Sarkar resigned from the assembly, calling for a secondary vote. Bypolls to Dinhata and Santipur are seen as battles of prestige for the BJP, which is currently grappling with an exodus of MLAs and senior leaders.


Voting is underway on a by-election for the Elinabad assembly constituency in Sirsa district of Haryana, which is set to see a three-way contest, with the opposition INLD party Abhay Singh Chautala, who has summoned his resignation on the issue of agriculture laws to hold the election, eyeing another victory. The Three Central Laws of Agriculture emerged as a major issue as the main part of Ellenabad is rural with people mostly dependent on farming.


Voting takes place in sub-rounds for the Gosaigaon, Papanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani and Thura seats. The ruling BJP fielded candidates in three seats, leaving the other two seats to its coalition partner UPPL. The Congress has fielded candidates in all five countries, while its former allies, the African Self-Defense Union and the BPF, are vying for two and two seats, respectively.


Voting is taking place in the Hozrabad assembly constituency in Telangana with the ruling TRS party, the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress in a three-way contest.

Source link

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *