Akash Chopra has selected his favorite team in the New Zealand starting line-up ahead of the 2021 T20 World Cup match against India on Sunday.

The cricketer turned commentator made the casting in a video on his YouTube channel. While selecting the batting order for Kane Williamson’s team, he analyzed that New Zealand has an abundance of top-tier hitters that deprive the middle ranking of any firepower.

Akash Chopra said:

“You might think I picked too many Tier 1 speculators but they don’t have any other choice… Martin Jupitel will open because he’s always had him, and you want to start with Daryl Mitchell so be it. [But] Devon Conway is also a first-class jumble na? He was competing in the top three. Tim Seifert is a T20 opener and does not have a reputation for ranking. So no explosive hitters were left in order. Glenn Phillips has a big name but he hasn’t attended the party yet. Dubai might suit it but if you change your pace, you can restrict it too. That’s the problem I see in this team.”

Checking out the bowling section, Akash Chopra said that without an injury to Luke Ferguson, New Zealand might be in trouble. He argued that while Tim Southey is generally an expensive bowler, India would not have many problems dealing with deer Mitchell Santner and Ish Soddy. He said:

“Luki Ferguson is unavailable, and he’s been left out of the tournament. I feel like a crucial element of this team has been left out… Trent Bolt is a threat but Tim Southey is very expensive overall. India will also be well-equipped against him. Mitchell Santner and Ish Soddy.”

While India are a much better side to rotate since adding KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya in the batting standings, they still have to be wary of New Zealand’s attack. In the end, it was Santner’s 4/11 vs Sodhi 3/18 match that pushed MS Dhoni’s men to just 79 in the 2016 T20 World Cup.

Akash Chopra plays XI for New Zealand

full 11: Daryl Mitchell, Martin Jupitel, Ken Williamson (centre), Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (WK), James Nessam, Mitchell Santner, Trent Bolt, Tim Southey, Esh Soddy.

personal picture

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.