England completed a convincing eight-wicket win over Australia in the T20 World Cup; Jose Butler shot No. 71 from 32 shots while chasing Eoin Morgan’s 126 in 11.4 increments. Chris Wooks (2-23) and Chris Jordan (3-17) lead a great bowling effort with the Australians in bowling for 125 in Dubai

Last update: 10/30/21 6:27 PM

Jose Butler hit 71 No from 32 balls to lead England to an overall victory

Jose Butler hit 71 No from 32 balls to lead England to an overall victory

Gus Butler scored 71 points from 32 balls as England kept their 100 per cent start in the T20 World Cup with a crushing eight-wicket win over Australia in Dubai.

The victory was built on another great bowling effort as early wickets from Chris Wooks (2-23), Chris Jordan (3-17) and Adil Rashid (1-19) set the tone, with Australia dropping to 21-4 before eventually becoming a throw-in. For 125 of the last ball of innings.

Then Jason Roy and Butler set off like a train in pursuit, sending England to 66-0 at the end of a powerplay – the highest score of any team so far in the tournament after six times.

Although Roy fell in the next, Butler kept going and the Australian bowlers had no answers as he returned to England within 12 games with only 50 balls to spare, bringing them closer to the semi-finals.

After winning the lottery and selecting the bowl, Eoin Morgan made the decision to give Rashid his first, and after starting a tidy from the rotary, the tailors got to work.

Woakes grabbed David Warner with the second ball, and followed it up with a superb one-handed catch mid-game as Jordan removed Steve Smith and then bit down again to frustrate lbwweight Glenn Maxwell and left Australia reeling at 15-3.

It only got worse for the Australians, as Rashid tricked Marcus Stoines with a googly move for a multi-tiered lbw, and with England in complete control, it was Aaron Finch – who watched the early collapse from the non-attacker end – and Matthew Wade did. Little choice but to try a slow rebuild.

They added 30 in the next 5.3 increments before Wade (18) holed up to give Liam Livingstone (1-15) the wicket that disciplined bowling deserves.

Ashton Agar (20) took two powerful hits against Timal Mills, but the England left arm got him stuck deep before Pat Cummins nailed his first two balls for six.

Chris Jordan got 3-17 as the English bowlers impressed again

Chris Jordan got 3-17 as the English bowlers impressed again

Jordan returned to fire Finch (44) at the beginning of the 19th century and tossed Cummins (12 of three) to crush a Yorker.

Mills (2-45) was expensive again at the end but after Adam Zampa ran out, Mitchell Stark signed him behind with the last ball to seal matters for England.

Australia needed a wicket early to have any hope of defending such an uneven total, but the vaunted fast trio – Starc, Cummins and Josh Hazlewood – never really threatened.

Butler had already pulled Starc for four when Roy walked down and slapped Hazlewood’s first ball through his leg.

Cummins was the next to feel the England opener’s fury with Roy hitting the ball on the side of the leg – the sound off the bat alone was enough to confirm the ball lasted for six.

Butler hit Agar long in the fourth inning to actually make himself a move and a straight six of Starc – the second was easily thrown into the top level – at the final end of the powerplay really showed England’s dominance.

Zampa had Roy (22 of 20) pounds on review early in the seventh, and Agar had David Malan (8) in the back, with Butler pinning Stark for a pair of fours and setting up a 25-ball half-century with another great. Six, this time again over Zampa’s head.

Zampa’s punishment continued with the fifth Butler, slapped hilariously to the floor, before handing the opener to Johnny Birstow, who pushed the next two into the crowd to hammer another nail in Australia’s coffin.

England claimed victory in the next round and could book their place in the semi-finals by beating Sri Lanka on Monday, while Australia fell to third place, behind South Africa, after their first defeat in the tournament. Competition.

What then?

Next for England is a trip to Sharjah to face Sri Lanka on Monday (1.30pm Sky Sports Cricket and main event), while Australia’s next participation will be against Bangladesh in Dubai on Thursday (9:30am, Sky Sports Cricket and main event).

England vs Sri Lanka

November 1, 2021, 1:30 p.m.

go on with your life

australia vs bangladesh

November 4, 2021, 9:30 a.m.

go on with your life

Sunday sees another Super 12 double, with Afghanistan playing Namibia in Abu Dhabi (9:30am, Sky Sports Cricket) before facing India and New Zealand head-to-head in Dubai (2.30pm, Sky Sports Cricket).

Afghanistan – Namibia

October 31, 2021, 9:30 a.m.

go on with your life

India vs New Zealand

October 31, 2021, 1:30 p.m.

go on with your life

Watch the T20 World Cup live on Sky between now and November 14.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.